How To Clean Your Makeup Brushes & Beauty Blender? Easy, cheap DIY

Hello Loves and happy Monday! That means it’s time for another post on Olita’s blog!

You probably read the title and you thought to yourself “I should wash my brushes…”. I know very well it’s hard to find the time for washing our makeup tools in our busy lives, but we all know how super important it is to keep our face free from any germs that later cause our skin to break out.

I’m here to share with you my tip how, with just two simple ingredients, you can deeply clean your brushes and beauty blender. The secret is Coconut Oil. Yes, that’s it! We use it for everything; to cook, bake, moisture our skin, as makeup remover and many more.       I love it! I have a huge jar in my kitchen and a smaller container in my bathroom for everyday use.

Let’s get straight to the DIY, shall we?

For my Beauty Blender I use a solution of one tablespoon of coconut oil and two tablespoons of antibacterial liquid soap. First I put the oil in a glass bowl and warm it up in a microwave, just for 15-30 seconds to help it melt. Then I add soap and mix. (Sometimes I add some warm water to the solution when I see that my beauty blender is not that dirty. When it is though, I just use more oil and soap.) I put my Beauty Blender in the bowl and squeeze it few times. Then, rinse under warm water. In that moment you can already see how well solution works. After “pre-wash” I leave it in mixture for a few hours more.

3

After it lay a decent amount of time in its bath I rinse it under water. To not let bacteria get to the drying sponge I put it in microwave for 10-15 second and wait. If it’s still wet I repeat. And that’s all!

6

Let’s get now to brushes!

I try to clean them as often as I can. When I use foundation brush I wash it after every use. The other brushes once or twice a week. Sometimes more often. Depends how mush I used them that week.

To clean those babies cleansing mixture is the same as for Beauty Blender. I just prefer instead of a bowl use a plate. I dip brush in oil-soap mix and, to not make it dirty, I clean it on my hand. With the circulate motion I swirl brush on my hand and then rinse with fresh warm water. Depending how dirty it is I repeat the step until foam is 100% white.

4

I always let them dry laying on a flat surface, because if I put it in a mug the glue that holds brush together will slowly dissolve and that will brake the brush. And we don’t want that, do we?

5

 

And here you have it loves! Hope it helps some of you save some money if you were going to buy some special makeup brush cleanser. Just two ingredients and your brushes are perfectly clean!

Was it helpful? Do you have some other ways to clean your brushes and makeup sponges? Let me know! I’d love to read your hacks!

xx, Olita


contact me: instagram|twitter|youtube|pinterest 

19 thoughts on “How To Clean Your Makeup Brushes & Beauty Blender? Easy, cheap DIY”

  1. How do you find your beauty blender cleaning routine works? I was using dish soap for a long time but found that there was product build up in the core of the sponge. I just picked up the solid cleanser by BeautyBlender, apparently it prolongs the life of your sponge?

    Liked by 3 people

    1. i don’t have problem of build up product (if you mean soap). I saw that foundation was hard to clean from the tip, but this happened only when i was using just soap. with coconut oil it gets clean as new. either way, you should use your beauty blender not longer than 6 months total. so for that amount of time this cleansing technique works perfect for me. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sorry dear, but I accidentally publish a post when still in draft XD. You should definitely try it! works like magic! no, I’ve never tried it! is it nice? xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

